Remarketing… Useful Marketing Tool or Cyber Stalking?

Posted: April 12, 2014 in Digital marketing, Marketing tool, Remarketing, Snapchat, Social Media
Tags: , , ,

For those of you who have occasionally browsed a shopping website during a slow day at work or in college (not this blogger, of course) you may have noticed ads related to your search pop up throughout the rest of your time spent online. Whether it be the new running shoes you checked out or the flowers you thought about sending your mam, all of a sudden the ads on your screen seem a little more personal. No, your computer has not read your mind. You are simply the target of display remarketing.

Remarketing is a tool that lets you target people who have previously visited your site and show them relevant ads across the web or when they use Google, Facebook, YouTube etc. It gives you the opportunity to tailor an ad or message to someone who visited your site but may not of bought anything and try entice them to do so.

In my experience this can be quite annoying, which may be interpreted as cyber stalking. For example, a few weeks back I was online searching for my mothers birthday present. I browsed certain clothes websites where I looked at dresses. I eventually decided not to buy her a dress as I don’t know what size she is, what color she likes or what style she would like (Best son ever, I know right πŸ˜› ). However for the next couple of weeks everywhere I went online, I was bombarded by ads for dresses. At first I thought my computer must think i’m a cross-dresser but no, I was just a victim of remarketing. Β And by seeing my Twin in a dress, I don’t think i’d look much better in one πŸ˜›

Image

Graham Long- Screenshot 2013

 

Also in relation to my last post, this is an example of why you should be careful who you Snapchat, sorry bro πŸ˜›

That’s not to say that remarketing is a bad tool, it can be very profitable if used correctly. with the use of adwords to reach a wider audience, remarketing would need to be used less and this would reduce people being cynical of companies.The ads used are targeted at people who are already somewhat interested in what you have to offer. They came looking to your site so now it is up to you to entice them to buy your products, while also keeping top of mind awareness. If they leave an abandoned shopping cart this is when you use remarketing to try and get them to follow through with the purchase.

Source: Facebook

Source: Facebook Graham long- 2014

As customers are becoming very technology literate and are able to download tools to block ads and know ways of avoiding them altogether. This is why it is important not to annoy them or stalk them if you will as before you know remarketing will become a thing of the past.

In saying that, I still think remarketing is a useful marketing tool.

Thats all for now people, G’luuuccckk πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

